Seven Wonders of the World
"Philo," De septum mundi miraculis
Hercher, Paris, 1858

Seven Wonders of the World, sometimes referred to as the "Seven Wonders of the Ancient World," is the name conferred on a group of ancient works of art which had obtained pre-eminence among the sight-seers of the Alexandrian era. The earliest extant list, doubtless compiled from the numerous guide books then current in the Greek world, is that of the epigrammatist Antipater of Sidon (2nd century B.C.). A second and slightly divergent list from the hand of a Byzantine rhetorician has been incorporated in the works of Philo of Byzantium. The monuments are as follows:

  • The pyramids of Egypt
  • The (hanging) gardens of Semiramis at Babylon
  • The statue of Zeus at Olympia
  • The temple of Artemis at Ephesus
  • The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
  • The Colossus at Rhodes
  • The Pharos (lighthouse) of Alexandria, or the Walls of Babylon

Use Browser « Back Button To Return To Last Page Visited
Copyright (1998 - 2000): Concord Learning Systems, Concord, NC.
All rights reserved. For details and contact information:
See License Agreement, Copyright Notice.