NC Flag
The Tar Heel State
CLS Logo  

This page is presented courtesy of Concord Learning Systems. We hope you enjoy these snippets about one of the original 13 colonies:
The 11th state.

Dates of Origin

North Carolina Counties

Quick Locator -- Click on County Name to See Location
Use "Back Button" to Return to This Page
Alamance Catawba Franklin Jones Pamlico Surry
Alexander Chatham Gaston Lee Pasquotank Swain
Alleghany Cherokee Gates Lenoir Pender Transylvania
Anson Chowan Graham Lincoln Perquimans Tyrrell
Ashe Clay Granville Macon Person Union
Avery Cleveland Greene Madison Pitt Vance
Beaufort Columbus Guilford Martin Polk Wake
Bertie Craven Halifax McDowell Randolph Warren
Bladen Cumberland Harnet Mecklenburg Richman Washington
Brunswick Currituck Haywood Mitchell Robeson Watauga
Buncombe Dare Henderson Montgomery Rockingham Wayne
Burke Davidson Hertford Moore Rowan Wilkes
Cabarrus Davie Hoke Nash Rutherford Wilson
Caldwell Duplin Hyde New Hanover Sampson Yadkin
Camden Durham Iredell North Hampton Scotland Yancey
Carteret Edgecombe Jackson Onslow Stanly  
Caswell Forsyth Johnston Orange Stokes  
Counties and Precincts No Longer in Existence
Albemarle Bath Clarendon Glasgow Qualla Boundry Wickham
Archdale Bute Dobbs Pamptecough Tryon  

Chronology of County Development

2001, Concord Learning Systems, Inc. All rights reserved.